We are pleased to share that frater Pio Vottola, a Norbertine deacon from St. Michael’s Abbey, will be serving at St. Peter’s Basilica during the Sacred Triduum.

On Good Friday, March 30th, frater Pio will sing the Passion of St. John during the gospel at the Liturgy of the Lord’s Passion (5:00 p.m. CET/8:00 a.m. PST).

On Holy Saturday, March 31st, frater Pio will also chant the Exsultet, the hymn of praise sung before the paschal candle, at the Great Vigil of Easter (8:30 p.m. CET/11:30 a.m. PST).

Frater Pio will be the third Norbertine from St. Michael’s Abbey that will sing the Exsultet in the last four years, preceded by Fr. Jacob (2015) and Fr. Joachim (2017).


*All events will be live on EWTN Live Streaming.


Click below to see all three, frater Pio (2018),  Fr. Joachim (2017), and Fr. Jacob singing the Exsultet at St. Peter’s.